PASIPHAE: Through the Veil of Dust to the Big Bang

The Department of Physics is excited to announce its involvement in PASIPHAE, a unique Astrophysics experiment set to take place at  Skinakas Observatory and at the South African Astronomical Observatory, located near the city of Sutherland in South Africa. The experiement is led by Kostas Tassis, an Assistant Professor in our Department, and it was made possible thanks to a generous donation from the Stavros Niarchos Foundation. The experiement is a collaborative effort of the Astrophysics Group in Crete (the joint Astrophysics group at the Institute of Plasma Physics, the University of Crete, the Foundation for Research and Technolohy-Hellas, and Skinakas Observatory) with the Inter-University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) in Pune, India, the California Institute of Technology in the US, and the South African Astronomical Observatory. Additional funding is provided by Infosys, India, the South African National Equipment Program, and Caltech. 

PASIPHAE will use unique, innovative polarimeters that are designed specifically for this purpose, to perform magnetic tomography of the Galaxy: it will allow scientists to deduce the 3-dimensional structure of the magnetic field and the dust that resides in our own Galaxy.  Moreover  removing the "veil" of Galactic dust the team will also be able to accurately estimate the polarization of the radiation emitted during the Big Bang in order to probe the first instants of the Universe, as well as the, yet-unknown, physics of Gravity at unprecedentedly high densities and temperatures. More information on the project are available here.

Crete Center for Quantum Complexity and Nanotechnology - CCQCN

The Department of Physics of the University of Crete announces the formation of a center for Quantum Complexity and Nanotechnology in Crete (CCQCN). The CCQCN will operate, starting September 2013, through a competitive grant from the European Union with the support of the University of Crete. It is a research entity constituted by theorists and experimentalists that focus on the broad area of Condensed Matter Physics, with particular emphasis ιn topics such as superconductivity, magnetics, graphene, metamaterials, complex systems, biological physics, field theory, nanotechnology and nanofabrication.

More information is available on the web site of the Center.

We would like to welcome you to the web pages of the Department of Physics of the University of Crete, located in the suburbs of the city of Heraklion in the island of Crete. Our department was founded in 1978 and is the youngest of similar departments in Greece. We are known internationally for high quality research in all areas of modern physics, as well as for the high level of education and career opportunities offered to our students. Over the years we have developed a broad curriculum of undergraduate physics courses and a competitive graduate program leading to Masters and Ph.D. degrees.

We hope that our web pages will provide a thorough description of our activities. Please feel free to contact us if you need further information.

Subscribe to Τμήμα Φυσικής RSS

University of Crete - Department of Physics - P.O Box 2208 - GR-71003 Heraklion, Greece
phone: +30 2810 394300 - fax: +30 2810 394301