Honorary PhD Recipients of the Department

The Department of Physics of the University of Crete has awarded the title of "Honorary Doctor of Philosophy in Physics of the University of Crete" to the following individuals for their seminal contributions in Physics as well as their influence to the Department.

Year Name Present position
2002 Jean Iliopoulos Researcher Emeritus- École Normale Supérieure, France
2002 Stephanos Trachanas Ex-Director of  Crete University Press
2009 Serge Aubry Researcher Emeritus - CEA Saclay, France
2009 George Alexandrakis Professor Emeritus - University of Miami, USA
2018 Gerhard Haerendel Director Emeritus, MPE, Garching, Germany

University of Crete - Department of Physics  - Voutes University Campus - GR-70013 Heraklion, Greece
phone: +30 2810 394300 - email: chair@physics.uoc.gr