Administration and Committees of the Department

Department Chair 
Alexandros Georgakilas

ΠαπαδάκηςAlexandros Georgakilas obtained his BSc. in Physics from the University of Patras in 1984 and his Ph.D. from the Physics Department, University of Crete in 1990. Between 1984 and 1995 he worked as a research assistant or research associate in the Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser (IESL) of the Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (FORTH), Heraklion, Crete. In 1987 he was at Thomson-CSF, Paris, France and in 1991-1992 at the University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA. In September 1995 he joined the Physics Department of University of Crete as an assistant professor and was appointed as an associate professor in October 2002. He was promoted to a Professor in 2010. He is serving as the Department Chair since September 2019. His research interests are in applied physics and materials science of advanced semiconductor materials and devices

Phone: +30-2810-394302

Department Deputy Chair
Iossif Papadakis

ΤομαράςIossif Papadakis received his BSc in Physics from the University of Athens in 1989 and his PhD in Astrophysics from the Queen Mary & Westfield College of the University of London (UK) in 1992. In 2003 he commenced his appointment as an Assistant Professor at the University of Crete, he was promoted to an Associate Professor in 2009 and to a Professor in 2014. He served as the Chairman of the Department of Physics from November 2015 to August 2019. His research interests are in Extragalactic Astrophysics, with main emphasis on active galaxies related studies..

Phone: +30-2810-394213

Secretary of the Department 
Eleni Kantidaki

Administrative Secretary

Phone: +30-2810-394308


Committees of the Department

Undergraduate Program Committee 
(Approved: 14/9/2020)
V. Charmandaris (Chair),  E. IliopoulosI. KiritsisP. RakitzisK. Tassis, G. Tsironis

Commitee of the Masters Program  "Advanced Physics" (Approved: 17/7/2020)
Ν. Tsamis (Director), X. Zotos (Deputy Director), V. Charmandaris,  Α. Georgakilas, P. Rakitzis

Commitee of the Masters Program  "Photonics and Nanoelectronics"  (Approved: 13/7/2020)
A. Georgakilas (Director), P. Rakitzis (Deputy Director),  V. CharmandarisΝ. Tsamis, Z. Zotos

Self-Evaluation Committee (ΟΜΕΑ) (Approved: 30/11/2015)  (Approved: 11/6/2018)​
V. Charmandaris (Chair), E. Iliopoulos, P. Rakitzis, Ν. Tsamis, G. Tsironis

Committee on Security & Health (Approved: 6/4/2020)
A. Georgakilas - Department Chair, Role: contact with the fire brigate and evacuation of Bldg.
Ε. Iliopoulos, Role: contact with bldg custodians
Α. Zezas, Role: cotrol of fire extinghuishing  system
Ε. Pattakou, Role: secretarial support
G. Zempilis, President of Student Union

Last Update: 23/11/2018 9:41:04

University of Crete - Department of Physics  - Voutes University Campus - GR-71003 Heraklion, Greece
phone: +30 2810 394300 - fax: +30 2810 394301